Congressman José E. Serrano

Representing the 15th District of New York

Serrano Joins Democratic Colleagues to Introduce Assault Weapons Ban

Feb 28, 2018
Press Release

Washington, D.C. - Congressman José E. Serrano joined Reps. David Cicilline (D-R.I.), Ted Deutch (D-Fla.), and more than 160 other House Democrats to introduce legislation to ban assault weapons and take dangerous weapons of war off Americans streets. Congressman Serrano is an original co-sponsor of the bill.

“There is no need for a civilian to own a military grade weapon. We cannot allow mass shootings at our schools and recreational public spaces to become the new normal. In the wake of yet another horrific tragedy, Congress has a moral duty to take action. This bill is a step in the right direction, and I hope that our Republican allies on this issue will join us in supporting this common sense bill to keep our communities and our kids safe.” said Congressman Serrano. “In 1994, I was proud to vote in favor of the original assault weapons ban- it made our communities and schools safer.  It is long past time to reinstate the ban.”

The Assault Weapons Ban of 2018 would prohibit the sale, transfer, production, and importation of:

  • Semi-automatic rifles and handguns with a military-style feature that can accept a detachable magazine;
  • Semi-automatic rifles and handguns with a fixed magazine that can hold more than 10 rounds;
  • Semi-automatic shotguns with a military-style feature;
  • Any ammunition feeding device that can hold more than 10 rounds; and
  • 205 specifically-named and listed firearms.

Assault weapons have become the weapon of choice for mass shooters. They were used in the recent attacks on the Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Florida and the Route 91 Harvest music festival in Las Vegas, as well as the mass murders at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Conn. and a movie theatre in Aurora, Colorado.


Congressman José E. Serrano has represented The Bronx in Congress since 1990.  He is a Senior member of the House Appropriations Committee.