Congressman José E. Serrano

Representing the 15th District of New York

Congressman Serrano Elected Appropriations CJS Subcommittee Chair

Jan 16, 2019
Press Release
Subcommittee Oversees Department of Justice, Department of Commerce, NASA, NSF

WASHINGTON, DC — Today, Congressman José E. Serrano was elected Chairman of the Commerce, Justice and Science (CJS) Subcommittee for the 116th Congress by the House Appropriations Committee’s Democratic members. The CJS Subcommittee oversees several important federal agencies, including the Department of Justice, the Department of Commerce, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), the National Science Foundation (NSF), the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF), and the Census Bureau, among others. In addition to the CJS subcommittee, Rep. Serrano will continue serving in the Financial Services Subcommittee and join the Interior, Environment and Related Agencies Subcommittee.   

“From gun safety, to criminal justice reform, to scientific research and the protection of U.S. commercial interests abroad, the House Appropriations Commerce, Justice and Science Subcommittee has oversight over some of our government’s most important agencies and programs. I look forward to leading my Democratic colleagues once again as we set a new agenda for the Committee to continue tackling these and other important issues in the 116th Congress. During my service in the Appropriations Committee, I have always made it a priority fighting to ensure our agencies, programs and public servants have the resources that they need to have a positive impact on the lives of millions of Americans.  In particular, I want to make sure that the agencies under the subcommittee jurisdiction are focused on helping working families in the Bronx and around our nation as we face unprecedented challenges from the White House. Most of these agencies remain shut down because of President Trump’s temper tantrum to build an unnecessary wall that the vast majority of people don’t want, endangering public safety and the livelihood of hundreds of thousands of Americans. I will do everything in my power to ensure that the employees at the vital agencies are able to get back to work, and to get paid for that work.”

The 12 subcommittees and their chairs are:

  • Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration, and Related Agencies – Rep. Sanford Bishop, Jr. (GA)
  • Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies — Rep. José E. Serrano (NY)
  • Defense — Rep. Pete Visclosky (IN)
  • Energy and Water Development, and Related Agencies — Rep. Marcy Kaptur (OH)
  • Financial Services and General Government — Rep. Mike Quigley (IL)
  • Homeland Security — Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA)
  • Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies — Rep. Betty McCollum (MN)
  • Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies — Rep. Rosa DeLauro (CT)
  • Legislative Branch — Rep. Tim Ryan (OH)
  • Military Construction, Veterans Affairs, and Related Agencies — Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL)
  • State, Foreign Operations, and Related Programs — Rep. Nita M. Lowey (NY)
  • Transportation, and Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies — Rep. David E. Price (NC)

The jurisdiction of the CJS Subcommittee includes:

  • Department of Commerce
    • Census Bureau
    • Economic Development Administration
    • Minority Business Development Agency
    • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Agency (NOAA)
    • National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
    • International Trade Administration (ITA)
  • Department of Justice
    • Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
    • Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF)
    • Executive Office for Immigration Review
    • Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA)
    • Bureau of Prisons
    • U.S. Marshals Service
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
  • National Science Foundation (NSF)
  • Related Agencies
    • Commission on Civil Rights
    • Equal Employment Opportunity Commission 
    • International Trade Commission 
    • Legal Services Corporation 
    • Marine Mammal Commission 
    • Office of Science and Technology Policy 
    • Office of the United States Trade Representative 
    • State Justice Institute